Get Updates

Transportation Unions Applaud Confirmation of Deborah Hersman to NTSB Chair

By Admin

WASHINGTON, DC – Edward Wytkind, President of the Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO, issued the following statement in reaction to Senate confirmation of Deborah Hersman to be reappointed to and named Chair of the National Transportation Safety Board:

“Transportation unions are pleased the Senate has confirmed Deborah Hersman to lead the National Transportation Safety Board.  Hersman is deeply committed to the safety mission of this agency and has demonstrated her passion to learn from accident investigations and advocate federal safety policies that make the U.S. transportation system safer.  And rather than simply assigning blame to individuals, she investigates the policies, procedures and practices that threaten safe operations.

“Ms. Hersman has always understood that well trained front-line workers play a critical role in moving goods and people safely across our vast transportation network. We applaud Hersman’s confirmation and look forward to working with her to advance transportation safety.”


The Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO, represents 32 member unions in the aviation, rail, transit, trucking, highway, longshore, maritime and related industries. For more information, visit

Attached Document or File This press release on TTD letterhead